Government of tamilnadu

Department of School Education – Coimbatore District

பள்ளிக்கல்வித்துறை - கோயம்புத்தூர் மாவட்டம்

About Us

           Coimbatore is an educational hub of south India. As of 2010, the Coimbatore district is home to 7 universities, 78 engineering colleges, 3 medical colleges, 35 polytechnics Colleges and more than 150 Arts and Science Colleges and a large number of schools. The city has reputed universities like Tamil Nadu Agricultural University (est. 1971), Bharathiar University (1982), Anna University Coimbatore (2007) and Avinashilingam university (1987). The city also houses research institutes like Central Institute for Cotton Research, Sugarcane Breeding Institute, Institute of Forest Genetics and Tree Breeding (IFGTB), Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education and Tamil Nadu Institute of Urban Studies. There are also plans to establish a world class university in the region and to convert the Government Arts college into a unitary type university.

          The first college opened in Coimbatore was the Government Arts College (1875–76). The forest college and research institute was opened in 1916. The first engineering college in the city was started by G.D. Naidu as the Arthur Hope College of Technology in 1945. Later it became theGovernment College of Technology, Coimbatore. PSG College of Technology was established later in 1951. The Air Force Administrative College was established in 1949 to train Indian Air Force personnel. Coimbatore Institute of Technology (CIT) was started in the 1950s. Coimbatore Medical College was opened in 1966 and the Government law college started functioning from 1978. The agricultural school established in 1868 was converted into a full-fledged agricultural university (Tamil Nadu Agricultural University) in 1971 and the Sálim Ali Centre for Ornithology and Natural History was opened in 1990. Several private engineering and arts & science colleges were started during the education boom in the 1990s.


Various types of schools are located in Coimbatore. They are, Government Schools, Government aided Schools, Corporation schools, Municipal Schools,  Adi-Dravida Welfare Schools, Self-finance schools, Matriculation Schools, Anglo Indian Schools and CBSE Schools.   The Coimbatore District Education Department is having two Educational Districts.  They are  Coimbatore Educational District and Pollachi Educational District.

       In 1867, the first group of students appeared for the SSLC Examinations from Coimbatore. The earliest educational institutions established in the city are C.S.I. Boys High School (1831), St. Michael's Higher Secondary School (1860), Stanes Anglo Indian Higher School (1862), St. Francis Anglo Indian Girls High School (1880), Sarvajana High School (1910) and Suburban Higher Secondary School (1917).

Important Educational Institutes in Coimbatore :

·         Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham-Deemed University 

·         Anna University of Technology, Coimbatore 

·         Avinashilingam University 

·         Bharathiar University 

·         Central Institute for Cotton Research 

·         Indian Institute of Research and Management 

·         Cotton Research Institute 

·         EduKart 

·         Institute of Forest Genetics and Tree Breeding (IFGTB) 

·         Karpagam University

·         Karunya University

·         Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda University (Off-Campus)

·         Salim Ali Centre for Ornithology and Natural History 

·         Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel International School of Textiles and Management 

·         South India Textile Research (SITRA)

·         Sugarcane Breeding Research Institute

·         Tamil Nadu Agricultural University